Finger Pickin’ Cake

So I have realized that while I would like to review every single restaurant in the Harrisonburg area, I am a college student on a tight budget.  I know you all feel me.  Between my Tuesday nights at the Pub and Thursdays at Dave’s I am running low on cash money.  Therefore, I have decided to make a little dessert of my own that is both cheap, easy and an awesome way to impress your friends!

Finger Pickin’ Cake, known to many as Monkey Bread, has been a favorite family recipe since I can remember.  The whole fun in this dessert is that no silver wear or plates are necessary (HELL YEAH!).  Rather than cutting this succulent dessert into pieces you simply pull it apart piece by piece.   It is the perfect blend of cinnamon, sugar and of course melted butter atop of doughy Pillsbury rolls.

WARNING: If you are trying to watch your weight before hitting the beaches on Spring Break, make after March 11th.

How to make Finger Pickin’ Cake

What you’ll need:

4 Packages of Pillsbury Dinner Rolls

2/3 Cup of Sugar

1/2 Cup of Cinnamon

1 Stick of Melted Butter

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Cut eat roll into 4 and form into balls.  Mix cinnamon and sugar in bowl and roll balls in the mix.  Place in a bunt pan in rows.  Dump remaining sugar mix on top of the rolls and the melted butter.  Bake for 40-45 minutes.  Serve hot!

The dessert is similar to a collection of cinnamon rolls, but rather than frosting this cake is drenched in butter.  Be sure to be near a treadmill after eating and enjoy!

*If you try to make this dessert I’d love to hear how it came out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

